Housesitting, day one…

[Alright! Today is a very special day, everyone: you’re getting two blog posts from me because 1) I’m housesitting for someone (more on that as you go along and even more, so you can get sick of me whining about it) and 2) I just got the Wi-Fi here to connect to my trusty laptop today. So, without further ado, here’s Day One, which was actually yesterday, but, yeah. Whether it’s the electricity going out or my duties impinging on any and all free time, shit just happens and I will deal with it. Have fun!]

I’ve been out of touch with my blog for the past few days, but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been writing. It just means that, if you’re ever to house sit for someone, make sure that 1) the fridge is stocked, 2) someone who knows what the hell they’re doing is available at all times, and 3) the internet is actually up and running. Still, it’s not like it’s a bad thing that I was offline for a while; to tell the truth, I felt a bit of Net fatigue setting in.

What is Net fatigue, other than a phrase that I’m hoping to coin (Anybody? No? Okay.)? I suppose I can describe it as the feeling that the boundless information superhighway is actually getting stale and boring. Those sites that you always go to can’t seem to update fast enough and whatever goes up just elicits a “Meh, that’s nothing new” response. I suppose that’s because I’ve been pretty much wired to my laptop for the past few months or so, eager to remain connected to everyone from school, from work, from battles waged in various MMOs and guilds that were joined on a whim.

Side note: If you do join a guild, make sure you’re actively involved. I got booted from my guild on Dungeons and Dragons Online because I forgot to log in for two weeks. Okay, so I didn’t exactly “forget”, I just got stuck and decided to leave the game alone for awhile. I tend to do that more often than I’d like, but there you are.

Anyway, I’m writing this well before I’m going to post it. It’s actually the end of my first day of housesitting and, as I’ve mentioned before, there is no internet. There’s a router, there’s electricity (finally), and there’s the home computer hooked up to the interwebs. As for my laptop, the intruder in this home network, it has effectively been blocked from everything. I have the password straight from my boss, but it is to no avail. No matter, I will tinker with it tomorrow (oh, gods, I’m getting my tenses all mixed up…) and, if all else fails, I think I can use the home PC’s ethernet cable to get something going.

But will I have enough time to even go online? I have much to distract myself here: a big TV, a fully stocked fridge, weeds to pull, grass to cut, an entire house to clean. I know half the stuff I mentioned were chores, but I’ve grown rather fond of having stuff to do, I suppose. But that’s for another post.

So, Internet. Useful, necessary in today’s society. Pretty freakin’ sweet distractor of all. Is it absolutely essential? Well, no, but I’d rather like to have access to it.

Now, off to try and find something to do, though I don’t like my options. Either a) I play maid and clean up the place, b) I go outside and play gardener and go yank weeds, or c) I play LittleBigPlanet with people that obviously know what the hell they’re doing already. Decisions, decisions…

Leave a comment

Filed under Summer 2012

Leave a Reply

