So it’s almost time for school…

I don’t know about you, but I’m fairly excited. However, I’m anticipating that I’ll be getting busy with coursework soon enough so I’m switching from the usual, if not sporadic, post-per-day to a more reasonable post-per-week. Besides, it’s not like awesome stuff happens every day. Just most days. And even then, it’s a bit of a stretch.

Aside from schoolwork, I’m gonna try out something called the Paleo Diet as well as actually using my gym membership and the school pool for once. It’s a bandwagon thing, I know, but reading through quite a few websites, it seems like less of a “diet” and more of a “’cause you shouldn’t be eating that anyway, stupid” sort of thing. No processed foods, nothing with an ingredient list that has font smaller than War and Peace, no foods that come from a box. Again, common sense. It’s what I was doing before, only to a sharper degree. I’m not too worried about nutrition as much as I am about working out, though.

That’s gonna be fun, working out in public. I’m used to using the treadmills in public, that’s not a problem, but I want to use the weights. I’ve never used the weights at the gym before and everyone else knows what the hell they’re doing. What if I do something wrong and pull a muscle? Or someone laughs at me and my squats? Even worse, what if someone I know sees me lift more than what they weigh? Would they be awed or peeved, terrified possibly? Maybe I should try it out with a blindfold or something.

Oddly enough, I’m not as apprehensive about going to the pool in the morning. I think it’s because I’ve already done that before my sophomore year. Sure, I still sport shorts and T-shirts when I go to swim, but it’s morning! It’s so early that there’s barely anybody there and whoever is present is either a) incredibly focused on doing their thing or b) partially asleep, so they won’t even notice your form (or lack thereof). Honestly, I can barely float on my back. My “stroke” is a mixture of doggy paddling and kicking like my swimming buddy told me to, without bending my knees. I’m planning to swim in the mornings about three days a week to start, but I’m probably still not going to shave my legs.

Which reminds me, both my sister and my mother still want to hold me down and shave or wax every last bit of hair from my body. Meanwhile, they’re both still tutting at me for getting my hair cut short a few months ago. Something about being more “feminine” because I’m a girl or whatever. I don’t particularly care about the hair; I got it cut short because it’s extremely curly and it can’t tangle up like this. Also, I had been wanting to cut it short for quite a while so, one day, I just decided to go for it. I was going to wait a bit to lose some weight and let my face thin out a bit more but fuck it. I may have gained some of the weight back, but I certainly didn’t lose my sass.

So, that’s pretty much that. I think I’ll be posting on Sundays just because that’s when I’ll have the most free time. Let me rephrase that; Sundays are when I should have the most free time, but knowing me, Sundays will be the days when I’m trying to catch up with homework so I’ll be online. Probably.

Leave a comment

Filed under Summer 2012

Leave a Reply

