I know I said Sunday…

But let me put it this way: my time is not my own when I’m seeing everyone after several months of summer. Can you blame me? Despite my flaws and oddities, I’m very well-liked, something that used to baffle me. Now I just take it in stride, though compliments can still throw me off my groove.

So, what have I been up to? Just getting back to school was an adventure and a half. Almost six hours’ worth of flying, then an hour to get to my apartment…definitely not going to repeat that ordeal any time soon. But apparently, I have nothing to complain about according to my friends; I have yet to sit through a flight to Sydney or Buenos Aires. Of course, now I don’t want to. Long flights are just horrid if your iPod doesn’t work anymore and you happen to be in the window seat of a plane that has no working lavatories.

Seriously. US Airways, get your shit together.

I would’ve flown United, but they wanted double the price for the exact route that I took. I get that they’re part of the same Star Alliance (they say as much before takeoff), but other than a few subtle differences, I don’t get the difference. Maybe it’s more of a preference thing. If I want on-board entertainment and lavs that work, I’ll fly United. If I want complimentary cups that are actually cups and not interchangeable with bowls to put peanuts in, then US Airways is more than qualified. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bashing the airline, but it’s a bit off-putting when they go around offering credit card applications to earn miles with them before letting us off of the plane. Thanks but no thanks.

After that, I had to move in quickly, which I did. At least, I got the key; I’ve only finished cleaning and organizing my room not an hour ago. I didn’t mean to wake up at 4:30 am, but I’m rather glad it happened. I’ve got the entire laundry room to myself! Besides, laundry or not, I don’t think I could’ve slept for very long. I’m far too anxious and excited for the day ahead. New classes, new professors, and a clean slate. This is gonna be my year, I can feel it! And even if it isn’t, I’ll make it so.

It’s weird, but I don’t think I’ve ever had to work for an A before college. High school was simple enough; just do what you’re told and you’ll do well. College? It depends on a lot of things. How do you manage your time? Does your professor actually teach well or do they just focus on their projects? Are the people around you actually willing to help out a fellow classmate or will they leech the answers off of you when you’re not looking? It’s the addition of a social element that can throw people off when they first start because, yes, you do make friends in college. But will they take away your time? Yup. You’ve got to balance hanging out and studying because just one or the other isn’t very fun or healthy.

I still remember my freshman year. Other than a couple clubs that I joined, I holed myself up in my room like a hermit. It wasn’t all because of my classes, though; I was fairly shy and kept to myself for the most part. If you weren’t in any of my classes or part of the same clubs, you didn’t exist. I shake my head at myself now because that’s a rather narrow way of going about the world. When I think of all of the amazing people I could’ve met and become friends with, it’s rather depressing. But that’s why I learn from it and stop wallowing in it, yeah? Maybe I’ll be someone that someone else was glad to meet when they were a freshman.

So, what’s on the menu for today, seeing as how it’s Monday and not Sunday? There’s my classes, just two of them instead of the three I had last year on Mondays. What’s more, I actually have a proper lunch time! Thank goodness for the little things. If I would’ve had to try and munch my lunch quietly during lecture for another semester, I’d probably be a bit upset but I’d stick to food that doesn’t crunch too loudly. It’s why I used to just pack peanut butter sandwiches; good luck crunching those! Now that I have an actual time for lunch, I can either pack something or walk back to my apartment, grab something, and head back, both of which help immensely when you’re on a diet.

Now, it’s not a “diet” diet, it’s the scientific definition of “diet”. Anything that is ingested is part of your so-called “diet”. I’ve already had a few friends freak out at the word, so I thought it’d be best to explain proactively and avoid the whole “you don’t need to diet, you’re beautiful no matter what size you are!” crap. Yes, I know I’m beautiful. But I’m not fit, I’m injuring myself with the extra weight, and I’m not letting that sort of shit fly anymore. I used to not give a crap, but then I decided that I was worth the effort. So, that’s my pet project and I’m gonna stick to it.

But y’know, it’s not that hard going Paleo. Other than having to courteously decline things like peanut butter sandwiches or chocolate fondue, I’m having an easy time of it. I made a beef stir-fry, scrambled eggs with tuna, and sliced apples with almond butter yesterday, all of which turned out rather well. I get to use the lunchbox that my best friend got me for Christmas last year too, which doesn’t cease to amaze people. Is it really that difficult to make your own food? Maybe, but it’s worth it, right? I’m still trying this out, though, so I have a little less than a month on Paleo before I can definitively say “Okay, this works” or “Aw, shit, this isn’t gonna work”.

Now, back to laundry and websurfing before getting ready. Next time’ll definitely be on a Sunday, promise!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Sunday Post

Leave a Reply

