It’s been a good while…

Good morning and, if you celebrate it, Happy Easter! If not, hey, there’s gonna be plenty of chocolate and candy on sale tomorrow that’ll be shaped like eggs. Good stuff.

So, it’s been a very, very long time since I last posted something on here. Most of it is me just plain forgetting to do so and part of it is that nothing’s really been happening, per se. I’ve had a couple exams, a few more deadlines thrown my way, but nothing I really felt like writing about, y’know? Although, since last time, I have seen a couple of really good movies! Am I an avid moviegoer? Not really, but I’m glad I managed to catch these two in one way or another.

So, I watched Silver Linings Playbook with a friend of mine a couple weeks ago. It was a nice way to end off my Spring Break, all things considered, though I was only enthused by the fact that Jennifer Lawrence was in it at first. So, we get to the movie theater and my friend and I are chatting about what might happen in the movie; I didn’t read anything about it online so that I didn’t spoil myself beforehand, but I had come across a few GIFs on Tumblr so I figured it would have something to do with some very unstable characters, to put it mildly. What I didn’t expect was the engrossing story and the rest of the cast just complimenting each other so nicely. We found ourselves cringing and laughing and just adding our own commentary to what was going on, which says a lot about the film. I think the movie was just shy of two hours, but they just flew on by and before I knew it, the movie was over. Just trust me, go and watch it if you still can.

The other movie I watched was one that I got to see last night at the movie theater on campus, The Perks of Being A Wallflower. Again, I just went because of Emma Watson, who plays Sam in the film. Maybe I should pick all of my movies like this, based on whether or not one of my favorite actors is starring in it, because this movie was really good too! And apparently the author of the book is also a hell of a director; I liked the general aesthetic of the film, as vague as that sounds. It was appropriate for the story while still being very pretty. The story itself kind of made me glad that I didn’t read the novel beforehand because I feel that, if I had, I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed the film half as much. That’s just me, though; I don’t particularly enjoy watching the same thing multiple times because then I already know what’s going to happen and that just ruins it for me. The only exception to this is when I watch it with different people because they can add it their own personal twist to things and keep it fresh. But, yes, this is definitely a must-see; not only do the characters and the story sparkle, but the music ties it all together nicely.

And that’s pretty much the highlights of the last month or so. I am, as ever, approaching the day I graduate with my bachelor’s degree with just a little bit of trepidation. But that’s fine, I’ll just face it head on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

